Poland Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.1
 Rooms  3.1
 Cleanliness  3.3
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  2.8
 Service & Staff  2.5
 Food / Dining  2.6
 Total  3.1

"bad experience"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Hanne T. of S, Poland
Reviewed:   July 20, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
You book a room via e-mail, they confirm your booking and tell you to contact them 5 day before arrival. When you do this, they inform you, that your booking was changed just like that and you're going to get something totally different from what you've ordered. In the end they don't response to your e-mails when you want to solve the problem.

"Baltic Hostel get our recommandation"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Jacob V. of Århus, Denmark
Reviewed:   August 23, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good atmosphere, good service and very nice staff

"Baltic Hostel, Gdansk"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Sean S. of Galway, Ireland
Reviewed:   September 18, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed one night in the Baltic Hostel in Gdansk despite having booked successfully for 2 nights through this website. However, I wasn't disappointed that I stayed only the first night of an interrail trip through Poland, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary.

I didn't particularly like the hostel. I discovered that there were no single or double private rooms as I was alone. The rather run-down condition of the building and the ground floor foyer left a poor first impression. When I checked-in, I found the only rooms available were dorms and I took as it was my first night. The place, I found was quite crowded and even worse, disorganised. Neither could I say that the service was particularly friendly either.

The set-up of dining facilities was equally disorganised and I found couldn't make a proper coffee. As well as that, the room was crowded. Also, I don't think there were any facilities for storing luggage, something that could happen in such a place. That said, the other guests seemed friendly enough. The website could have provided an e-mail address or some other contact facility for making a prior reservation.

But that's just a minor quibble. Overall, not impressed by this hostel. Would need to get more organised.

"Nice atmosphere, good location"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Eric H. of Kirn, Germany
Reviewed:   August 20, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   October 2006     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
City centre is within walking distance, rooms are clean and comfortable, friendly staff.

"Terrible"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Nico L. of Orléans, France
Reviewed:   August 14, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
First of all, to find the hostel is almost a paper chase. If you manage to find it,you arrive in a dark place with trash bags in the stairs and you are received by a guy who looks and smells like and alcoholic and behaves like a little soldier observing everyone everytime.
I had made the reservation of 2 beds in a 4 people room for 2 nights. When I showed the printing, the man told me that there were not rooms of 4 people and he suggested a dorm of 10 people ! The night was terrible and in the morning observed that our dorm was connected with another dorm of 10 people. Thus, it was like a 20 people dorm (smell and noise included)...
All the more, I had paid 8% at the reservation for nothing because we paid the whole price for one night and decided to left this hostel to go to Dizzy Daisy Hostel, more conformist and honestly managed.

"Baltic Hostel"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Alex K. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 25, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Despite cancellation, the hostel was very good at processing this.

Would consider booking again. I cannot, however give a fair assessment as I did not stay in the end

"Baltic Hostel, Gdansk"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Claudia B. of Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 20, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
At the Baltic I spent my first nights in Poland, a good initiating experience. Interesting memorable atmosphere. Individual approach by staff, free home cooked food offered on one occasion...

Beds and shower great. It is near a main road - for a quiet night I recommend ear plugs if this sort of thing bothers you.

It felt kind of secure and safe although there are no lockers or a luggage room - that's why my rating for this category is lower.

It was a bit tricky to find (facing the coach station turn right, walk along the main road until it bends - but you just cross the road and keep walking straight on a kind of pavement - passing a few big red brick houses to your left and soon - just before you get to a highway bridge - it is to your left - look out for their sign on the building .. it is on the first floor.

"Shocking Hostel"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   James B. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 14, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Basically if you're a non smoker you will be smoked out in this hostel. Smokers have little respect for those that do not share in their habit. The place also smells like they released a bag of tomcats into the building and they pissed on everything.


1 - 8 of 8 reviews




PolandInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us